A day in the life of…

Why we tell stories

Posted on: January 14, 2013


People are always asking, it’s a simple question really, a get-to-know you question.

What do you like to do? What are your hobbies?

Well, I like to read. I like to read because the adventure of stepping inside someone else’s world, story, mind is huge. Everyone has a story. I only know my story in my limited bubble. Reading allows me to step inside someone else’s story and see life from their perspective. It allows me to see why people think a certain way, what their actions are and why, what difficulties they have to overcome, how they handle it and what mistakes they make along the way. It allows me to see how they communicate, why certain people are recluses, why certain people see the big picture, why certain people only see the details. It allows me to live through their loss, their pain and maybe…just maybe I can do the same for my readers. To tell a story is to give the reader, listener, viewer a glimpse into world they haven’t considered and afterwards allow them to take something back into their own world, life, story.

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Vote for your Favorite!

Archives

