A day in the life of…

Standing Out in a Cookie Cutter World

Posted on: April 12, 2013


Recently I finished reading Linchpin by Seth Godin, which describes the need to be indispensable and stand out among the “crowd”. The book also warns the dangers of becoming just another “cog” in the “machine”. I feel like his book aligned with my recent post The Road Less Traveled, detailing why tough situations bring us the most fulfillment and satisfaction in life.

Honestly, it’s rough for me to say this (and feel free to disagree, I like a debate), but I hate reality television shows. I think they are stupid and I think the people on them are dumb, what happened to common sense? I understand the need for drama, but honestly I don’t understand how a reality television star could feel proud of their accomplishments in life.

Instead of wanting to be like the next drama mama, or just like the next supervisor or manager in the workplace, or even the next Donald Trump or Stephen King, I want to be my own person, strong, independent, innovative and standing out from the crowd. It’s the people who dare to dream, do the impossible and not listen to what should be done to fit in who make a difference. In the words of my favorite TV show which is NOT a reality show: “Challenge Accepted!

What’s your dream?

1 Response to "Standing Out in a Cookie Cutter World"

[…] to Seth Godin’s books, namely, Linchpin: Are you Indispensable? which I wrote about in a previous post. Seeking to create change and go against the norms, one always runs into people who tell you point […]

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Vote for your Favorite!

Archives

