A day in the life of…

To Live is to Write

Posted on: April 16, 2013


Last night I found myself at a height of creativity, inspiration and original thinking. I went to a hear my sister, Katrina, read for 15 minutes, her creative literature in a room full of eager listeners. Our ears were pricked, our minds engaged as we listened to her draw us in, pulling us away from thoughts of here, transporting us to another mind, another life, another land. We could empathize with the characters, feel their pain, think their thoughts and wonder. Why. The fiction, the poetry, the collage of words mashed together in a way that inspires life and questioning…

I found myself thinking, to live is to write, to find a way to take thoughts and translate them into beauty others will understand. Words are a gift brilliantly shared last night. I will return for another taste.

6 Responses to "To Live is to Write"

It is like finding the detonator and release of all your potential at once. A great story is like seeing a mushroom cloud from a distance, and knowing the person at the other end has found their detonator.

I like it! Great illusion!

I often wondered what makes writers so distinct from the rest of the population, I’d guess it’s the way we view the the world.

The lovely comment you left on my blog spurred my interest and so I came for a visit. I read five writings and loved them all. Your posts are fresh and honest (along with well written). This particular entry was an excellent example. Yes, words are a gift. Let us share them to enrich the world.

Thanks for the kind words it’s always inspiring to hear from fellow writers! I look forward to reading more of your work!

well said: “…transporting us to another mind, another life, another land. We could empathize with the characters, feel their pain, think their thoughts and wonder…”

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Vote for your Favorite!

Archives

