A day in the life of…

Myran – A Brief Preview to Peak your Interest

Posted on: June 13, 2013


Below is a preview of a 40,000 word novella I wrote as a prequel to the Four World Series. Following along in the adventure/fantasy theme Myran tells the story of a young woman determined to fight through tragedy and regain her place in the world.

Selections from Chapter 7 – Lightening Vision

I woke to a silvery light, I could tell it was daylight, yet around me a phantom of mist floated and glazed its way around me. We were still deep in the forest, lost in its secret and hidden paths, yet everything here was enchanted, it all seemed to move around me, or maybe it was the eeriness of the mists. Nothing seemed real, yet everything was touchable.

The leaves seemed to have their own bodies, moving, no, even floating in the shadows of light. The grass was flattened under the presence of the unearthly and even the vast trunks shuddered under an impending weight. For the first time, I began to feel the fullness of the power of the “wild things” and their knowledge and infinite life. It began to touch me, creeping over my body softly until I felt cold and clammy and I realized what I had been fighting. A power impossible to resist, knowledge vast beyond understanding, who could live so close to this? This was true fear, the large knowing which stood up and looked me square in the face, and told me this life was not for me.

I was not a “wild thing” and would never be one. This is why I must leave and give them back their sacredness, return their secrets to their keepers, and never stir beyond their untraceable borders again. There was no fighting this mystery, they had relented, as long as I was a child, but now, grown as I was, it was over and they returned to their home.

As for me, what would happen to me, this was now thrown to the wind. Life was now meandering, following the directions of the wind. Now I was the stone which had been cast into the waterfall, it was my turn to go where it willed, and as much as I wanted to refuse, I could not resist.

“Are you ready?” Luthín asked. I was surprised at the question, I expected her to simply rush me off, as the day before.

“I will never be ready,” I replied my words sounded neutral in the unforgiving air, pushing me away and onwards, further from the secretive “wild things”. “I know now though, it is not up to me.”

“Then you feel it too,” she paused, lost for a moment, in what, I could not understand, she appeared to be seeing more than thinking.

Tilyon walked up, the signal for departure. Luthín quickly turned to me, almost apologetically. “You cannot know, it must be like you have never been here,” and without warning she produced a greenish belt which she wound around my eyes.

A slight hint of anger washed over me, but the relentless power of the “wild things” was strong. I knew it would be useless to disagree so I simply let myself be guided by Luthín’s nimble fingers. My thoughts I kept to myself, from the probing of the “wild things” who seemed to know all, which was all too much. One cannot expect a child, raised by nature to suddenly become tame. As much as I liked my wondering thoughts I wished for little more than security and by ripping me apart, the “wild things” had lost my trust.

“Where are we going?” I asked, sometime later. It was more of a request than a demanded. I felt, blind as I was, at least I deserved to know where we were heading and whether they were faithlessly casting me out into the wild, returning me to my people, or simply finding a new hiding place. I had much doubt in the last thought, it seemed to me time to take life into my own hands.

“The shadows are fixed far from here,” Luthín murmured as if she did not hear my request.

“We are returning to the Green Havens,” Tilyon replied smoothly in his easy voice. “Do not worry, they accept outsiders there,” then he paused, maybe thinking he had offended me by calling me an outsider. “You will not be forced to leave there,” he trailed off.

Even though I could not see expression, I felt rather than visualized the exchange of glances between Luthín and Tilyon. There was something boding, information they were hiding from me. “Are you going to take me to my people? Are you tired of hiding me?” I asked, unkindly.

One of them stepped on a stick, an unlikely misstep for a “wild thing”, it snapped loudly against the light fluidity of our movements. The remains of my question were answered in silence but I knew at least I had reached part of the truth and fell silent for the remainder of the day.

Sometime later, the rapid pace of forest life slowed and the air chilled slightly around me. Now I heard larger wings and higher voices calling to one another, the animals were tip-toeing around each other. Now came the dance of the hunter and its prey and night, as if hiding this deathly game, came like a swift cloud and covered the nocturnal activities.

Even with this change, however slight, my guardians continued to travel on, pausing for neither food nor drink. It was like the night before, a flight into the unknown, a sense of desperation spread and soon I began to feel chilled and lost. Darkness gathered its’ deep despair around me but instead of relaxing in its arms I grew tense. At this pace we would soon arrive at the Green Havens I guessed, and once again I would be trapped in their designs of a life. Possibly there would be another fight about me and then a decision. I had to escape, as soon as my eyes were released. Then it would be my turn to disappear into the forest, it would be my turn to forsake the sacred rules and laws the “wild things” appeared to keep.

Ready for more? Sorry this book hasn’t been published yet but please feel free to contact me or leave me a comment. Due to demand I may provide an early release!

1 Response to "Myran – A Brief Preview to Peak your Interest"

[…] My mornings are time for productivity. Even though I’m a night owl I prefer to get most of the work out of the way before heading out for the rest of the afternoon/evening. My focus is on technology and inbound marketing, however I also spend time working on the last installment of my best selling fantasy book series. […]

Don't be shy, share your thoughts!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Vote for your Favorite!

Archives

